buenoguy (unplugged)

[diaryland] [older] [email] [guestbook]

01/18/2002 @ 10:26 p.m.

first entry from harwich port

I am officially in Massachusetts! Exciting, eh? I'm getting used to these weird East Coast streets and accents, but it's no problem.

My apartment is crooked, I forgot. Scott walked from my kitchen to my bathroom and noted that the floor slopes down. Not just a little, but there's an actual little ramp in the floor. It's kind of weird. But when you live in a place that was built in 1850, that's normal.

Before Scott and I left on our trip, I took him to Gold Star Chili in Cincinnati to get some Cincinnati Chili before we left. We went to the food court inside the Tri-County Mall. There were no employees out front, so I looked in the back to see if anyone was back there. At first, I didn't notice anything, but I kept looking and noticed a reflection in an oven in the back. I saw two people "dry humping" is what I believe one would call it. I could see a guy standing against a counter and a woman against him, but facing away from him. They were gently "humping" there. I told Scott what I saw and he saw them and then the lady came out through the door. She asked what I wanted and I said something like, "Oh, we could see you back there in the reflection." She said, "oh....my....gosh" and started laughing, but in the "I'm so embarassed" kind of way. The whole time she was taking our orders, she just kept on laughing that same way and wouldn't even look at Scott and I. We finally got our food and as soon as we left, she went straight into the back to continue.

Scott had asked her how much refills were and she told us 25 cents. But we had the upper edge now, so he went back to get a refill. As he walked up, he said, "Ahem!" and she laughed again like she did before and gave him a free refill.

I'm back to work again. Learning more and more every day. Now, people are starting to come into the office to talk/complain/etc. to me. I get lots of complaints too. I guess when most of your workforce is over 60 and one guy just celebrated his 70th birthday yesterday, you have a lot of interesting, thoughtful, and stubborn employees. I'll get used to it. I like it so far. Except meetings. I hate meetings. Hopefully, the manager here will leave soon. He is renting an apartment far away from here, but his wife and his children all live in New York, 6 hours away. So, he doesn't want to stay here a long time. He said today that he'd stay until the new operations facility was set up, but I don't think that's going to happen. I think he'll leave earlier and I'll be the person to take over. Probably not, but I can hope. I have only been here two weeks total, so what am I supposed to think?

I'll put some pictures of my apartment here as soon as I get the chance to unpack and clean up a little bit. I did the kitchen today, but I've got my bedroom and bathroom to finish.

Call me! Email me! If you want a job this summer, you've got one on Cape Cod for 11.45 an hour! I guess we need dispatchers (evening service) and drivers here for our summer service.

--JohnnyB

[prev] / [next]